FORT SMITH – The Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine (ARCOM) has named Lauren James as the 2023-2024 Student Doctor of the Year. James is a fourth-year student slated to graduate in May. The Student Doctor of the Year Award is presented annually by the Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents to students who go above and beyond the average osteopathic medical student. One student is selected at each College of Osteopathic Medicine across the nation for this award, and will go on to compete for the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) National Student Doctor of the Year Award.

According to AACOM, “The National Student DO of the Year is chosen from among the outstanding students selected by their schools as Student DO of the Year on the basis of their service to their college, leadership and research experiences, and dedication to the osteopathic profession.”